A Quick Guide to the Main Football Teams in Cyprus

Tsirion 4
Tsirion in Limassol, 2021

Although I’m originally from the UK, I moved to Cyprus in 2015 and have been here ever since (bar a 1-year stint in Belfast). As a result, I’ve started to follow Cypriot football quite closely, primarily in support of my adopted club, Apollon Limassol.

However, one of the primary joys of living on this beautiful island is that it is an undiscovered haven of hidden gems, particularly when it comes to football grounds. As we move (slowly but surely) into the post-COVID area, it is one of my goals to document as many of these stadiums as I can.

Here’s a quick breakdown of Cyprus’ football teams, as well as some of the key things you need to know about groundhopping here.

Cities / Regions I Have Visited:

Inside Tsirion Stadium

Ticket Information

At the time of writing, a designated government fan card is required to watch top level domestic football in Cyprus (as well as international and European matches). Fortunately, the process can be completed online and is relatively painless. You will, however, need to provide an ID number, such as a passport. These cards/passes are checked on the gate, so don’t expect to get into any top flight games without one (note that away fans travelling to Cyprus who have purchased tickets through their club or association are exempt from this process).

Match tickets can be purchased through individual club websites (although most of these are in Greek, and Google Translate can be clunky). You can also purchase at the ground or, for larger clubs, in person at the club’s official store (these are typically located in city centres and are easy to find). For lower league matches, there is usually only one entrance into the ground, and you simply purchase your ticket on the gate.

Sell outs are uncommon, but for important matches can happen. Therefore, if you’re planning to attend a big European match or a crunch derby, it’s probably worth purchasing in advance.

Some interesting derbies to look out for include:

  • APOEL v Omonia Nicosia (Nicosia Derby)
  • Apollon Limassol v AEL (Limassol Derby)

In most cases, fans purchase tickets for a particular section rather than an actual seat, so it’s also worth ensuring that you arrive early to secure a good view. Cypriot fans are passionate and large pyro displays are common, so it may also be worth bringing a scarf.

Full List of Football Teams in Cyprus

As of the 2022/23 season, there are 62 professional and semi-professional clubs competing across the top four divisions of Cypriot football, and a multitude of amateur sides within the various regional associations (tiers five and six). Currently, they are as follows:

Tier 1: Cyta Championship

ClubPlays InGround
AEK LarnacaLarnacaAEK Arena
Akritas ChlorakasPaphosStelios Kyriakides
Anorthosis FamagustaLarnacaAntonis Papadopoulos
Apollon LimassolLimassolTsirio
Aris LimassolLimassolTsirio
Doxa KatakopiasPeristerona (Nicosia)Katakopia Stadium
EN ParalimniParalimniTasos Markou
Karmiotissa PolemidionLarnacaAmmochostos Stadium
Nea Salamis FamagustaLarnacaAmmochostos Stadium
Olympiakos NicosiaNicosiaGSP
Omonia NicosiaNicosiaGSP
Pafos FCPaphosStelios Kyriakides

Tier 2: B Kategoria

ClubPlays InGround
AEZLimassolParekklisia Community Stadium
Alki OrokliniLarnacaOroklini Community Stadium
Anegennisi DeryneiaDeryneia (Famagusta)Anegennisi Deryneia Stadium
Ayia NapaAyia NapaAyia Napa Community Stadium
Ethnikos AchnasAchna (Famagusta)Dasaki
FK Krasava Eny YpsonasLimassolParekklisia Community Stadium
Ermis AradippouLarnacaAradippou Community Stadium
MEAPNisou (Nicosia)Theodorio Community Stadium
Othellos AthianouAthianou (Larnaca)Othellos Athianou Stadium
Olympia LympionLympia (Nicosia)Olympia Lympion Stadium
Omonia AradippouLarnacaAradippou Community Stadium
PAC OmonoiaNicosiaVarious
PO Achyrona-OnisilosSotira (Paphos)Sotira Community Stadium
PAEEKNicosiaStadio Keryneia Epistrofi
Peyia 2014Peyia (Paphos)Peyia Community Stadium
PO XylotymbouAchna (Famagusta)Dasaki

Tier 3: G Kategoria

ClubPlays InGround
AEPLimassolPano Polemidia Community Stadium
APEA FCLimassolAkrotiri Community Stadium
APEPKyperounda (Limassol)Kyperounda Community Stadium
APONAAnageia (Nicosia)Anageia-Deftera-Psimolofou Community Stadium
ASIL LysiLarnacaGSZ
ASPIS PylaLarnacaPyla Community Stadium
Digenis Akritas MorphouNicosiaMakareio
EN-THOI LakatamiaNicosiaTHOI Lakatamia Stadium
Ethnikos AssiasNicosiaMakareio
Ethnikos LatsionLatsia (Nicosia)Latsia Community Stadium
Elia LythrodontaElia (Nicosia)Elia Stadium
ENAD Polis ChrysochousPolis ChrysochousPolis Chrysochous Community Stadium
Iraklis GerolakkouNicosiaMakareio
Kouris ErimiLimassolErimi Community Stadium
Ormideia FCOrmideia (Larnaca)Ormideia Community Stadium
Chalkanoras IdaliouNicosiaDimitris Chamatsos

Tier 4: STOK Elite

ClubPlays InGround
AEK KorakouKorakou (Nicosia)Korakou Community Stadium
AEN Agios Georgios Vrysoullon-AcheritouVrysoulles (Famagusta)Olympos Acheritou Stadium
AE TroullonTroullon (Larnaca)Troullon Community Stadium
AO AvgorouAvgorou (Famagusta)Avgorou Community Stadium
Agios TheodorosSkarinou (Larnaca)Agios Theodoros Community Stadium
Anegennisi LythrodontaLythrodonta (Nicosia)Anagennisi Lythrodonta Stadium
Anorthosis MouttagiakaLimassolGermasogeia Stadium
Atlas AglantziasNicosiaAglantzias Community Stadium
Geroskippou FCPaphosMichalis Christofi Kyprianou
Doxa PaleometochosPaleometochos (Nicosia)Doxa Paleometochos Stadium
Kedros Agia Marina SkyllourasKotsiatis (Nicosia)Kedros Stadium
Kornos 2013Kornos (Larnaca)Kornos Community Stadium
Omonia PsevdaPsevda (Larnaca)Psevda Community Stadium
Orfeas NicosiaNicosiaOrfeas Stadium
Spartakos KitiKiti (Larnaca)Kiti Community Stadium
Phinikas Agia Marina ChrysochousAgia Marina Chrysochous (Paphos)Evripidi Community Stadium